About Shindong.. [warning lots of text]

Do you remember last weeks U.P.A.H.I (For you don't know it stand for Uber Pretty And Hot Idol -__-)



Wrote the whole "He was the only 'large-sized' one in Suju" bla bla bla. Read a post about him on tumblr

Quote:
“‘Lose some weight! Why can’t you take care of yourself?’ When I say this, the person might think, ‘Look who’s talking!,’ but I would reply, ‘I’m a boy and you’re a girl.‘” - Shindong

This comment was made than none other than Super Junior’s hefty member, Shindong, a little over a year ago when the topic of weight gain among women was brought to attention. Shindong wasn’t the only Super Junior member to become intertwined in this scandal as Yesung stated that he felt overweight women were “lazy”. Leeteuk also added to the flame by expressing his own disgust in full-figured women and stated he disliked them for not taking care of their bodies.



Leeteuk
, I believe, (while slightly risky) boldly stated his preference with a backing reason which I don’t find too much of an issue with. Ignorance may be to blame for Yesung’s comment (as some women who are overweight may have severe depression, health problems, or bad genetics making it difficult to keep a trim figure over just being “lazy”). However, Shindong, though excusing his own obesity, is quite obviously promoting inequality towards women. I know Asia is a male-dominated region, but this behavior is inexcusable for any man! I don’t understand how someone whom has been heavily criticized for his own unattractive appearance and has experienced the feeling of being an underdog when it comes to looks could be so unjust to a woman with weight problems (especially since women are naturally more prone to obesity than men). Shindong even clearly states in his ‘ideal type’ that he wants an “adorable, petite” girl. In fact, the girlfriend he proposed to last year (though unknown if they have been married or not already), he discovered by first seeing her picture and requesting someone to introduce him. (Isn’t it odd that he has to have someone ‘petite’ and ‘adorable’ when he is obese and unappealing?) I completely understand if men aren’t attracted to heavy women, but if you’re heavy too, then what’s with the high standards?

In fact, alot of men have this fairytale. I myself have witnessed it when my average-looking (and unattractive) male friends expected to marry an all-around perfect girl. They were so obsessed with the gorgeous, non-existent girl in their heads that they refused to date anyone else (…they watched too much Japanese anime, really). The thing is, they didn’t even TRY to look better. (If you want someone good-looking, shouldn’t you yourself try to look good too?)

I find we women look for more in a man than just looks and sometimes we can love the person even if they’re not our ideal type. With men, it seems that appearance matters most. If you’re drop-dead gorgeous and you become very fit, then it’s OK to have high standards (just don’t be stuck up about it!), but if you’re average-looking and never planning on improving, what makes you think you should have a perfect-looking girl at all times in your life, even when you’re old?? This frustrates me because I find that too many men treat us women like we should be flawless and they should be allowed to have flaws. What’s even more irritating is that women seem to accept it. Ummm…figuratively speaking…but…if I worked hard to look incredibly gorgeous, you better be as hot as Tegoshi Yuuya!

It wasn’t long ago when I defended Shindong by saying, “He has a cute face!” or “He’s a kind, beautiful person!”, when others called him “ugly” and “fat. I’m more reluctant now to defend him after finding out about this incident. While I forgive them for their remarks, I do feel an indifference towards both Yesung and Shindong in comparison to other Suju members. (I continue to enjoy Super Junior mainly because of Kim Heechul; I loooove him!) ^^;

(I wasn’t going to post this out of fear of offending ELFs, but I worked on it for hours…deleting & rewriting…trying my best to get my point across without looking like an anti or a senseless troll with the intent to bash Yesung, Leeteuk, and Shindong.
This article doesn’t just address a mere idol scandal, but a worldwide concern moreso. While we love our idols, we should remember that they too are human and treat them as such at all times which means accepting the fact that they are imperfect just as we are. I hope that this post will be read without biased
oppinions and with reasonable thought.)



Don't know if you really had the energy to read the whole post ~someone~ wrote. I'm not mad or anything but it's wierd XD That quote he said 'I'm a boy and you're a girl'. XD HAHHAHAHAHAHAHAH!!!!
It's true that people should be fit but hey who am I to judge. Everyone thinks differently. They consider that women should keep fit. So? Even if it can be ironic for someone "large" to say it Í can say that we kpop freaks aren't really that "sane" either with our standards now XD

And I fully agree with the author that some women leads out of eating disorders, depression and so on. But I don't really have any specific things to say as I said earlier. Just read and see what your own feelings tells you about this. It's fifty-fifty for me actually ;')

But Shindong is still a good guy ^w^ He's actually losing weight now, a lot...


Comments

Comment the post here:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (Only we can see it)

URL/Blog address:

Comment:

Trackback


We're two people who are living every fangirls dream (kind off...) In our blog you'll be able to read everything from the awesome duo M2stasch (us of course) to random stuff, news and about any other groups as well. We hope that you will enjoy visiting our blog and leave with a smile on your face! ^o^ /B.R.A - Best Rapper Aevah! & Bo Bae (but you can call me Bo)

RSS 2.0